Join Now                                         Blog   LinkedIn   Twitter 

Amulree Essay Prize Winners

This prize (currently £450) commemorates the name of the Rt Hon Lord Amulree, a founder member and the President of the British Geriatrics Society from 1948-1973. It is awarded to medical students for an essay on a subject pertinent to ageing or old age written from a medical, biological or sociological point of view.

2017 First Prize: Keiron Jankowski, University of Sheffield - What factors affect survival in critically ill older people?
Second Prize: Avinash Harinarayanan, Manchester University - Vascular Parkinsonism and the ageing brain
Third Prize: Joint winners Sarah Alexis Gritis, University of St Andrews Medical School - The pain of Parkinson's Disease
and Natasha Povey, Lancaster Medical School - Immunosenescence - can it be reversed?

2016 First Prize:  G Di Paolo, Keele University School of Medicine - Researching the health of our ageing population
Joint Second Prize Winners: Tom Fitzgerald, University of Southampton - The Usual Medical Care of Older People in Primary Care
and Joseph O'Keeffe, University of Leicester - Towards a Geriatric General Practice

2015 First Prize: Charlotte Boreham - Dietary restriction and its impact on the neuropathology of Alzheimer's Disease
Second Prize: Adam Dyer - Cognitive impairment and dementia in older adults with Type II Diabetes Mellitus
Third Prize: Mary-Elizabeth Conn - Could incorporating geriatric assessment methods into secondary care specialities eradicate age discrimination in the NHS?

2014 First Prize: Clare Langan, Edinburgh University - Does Immunotherapy hold the cure for Alzheimer's Disease?
Second Prize: Rachel McNulty, St George's University of London - Safeguarding older adults and the role of doctors
Third Prize: Daniel J. Fitzgerald, Magdalen College, University of Oxford Medical School - The impact of chronic illness: observations of a patient-caregiver relationship in PD

2013 First Prize: Annie Ritson (download essay)
Second Prize: Kathryn Price (download essay)
Third Prize: Vanda Ho (download essay)

2012 First Prize: R Visagan (download essay)
Second Prize: Charles D Timms (download essay)
Third Prize: Alpa Kanji (download essay)

2011 First Prize: Nathan Gauge;
Second Prize: Brinta Rabindra;
Third Prize (Joint Winners): Rachel Varughese; and Bernard Maybury

2010 First prize: Mary Ní Lochlainn (download essay)
Second prize: Biren Patel (download essay)
Third prize: Christopher Jones (download essay)

2008 K Belfield (download essay) and M Khan (download essay)

2007 S S Gill (download essay)

2006 A Moolla (download essay)

2005 L Quinn (download essay

2001 J Tan & A Liew

2000 P Acharya

1999 L Landon

1998 E Dale 

1997 C Geppert

1996 G A Paul 

1995 M Edwards

1994 S Dias & H Houlden

1993 P Han Ng, W W M Saweirs

1992 J Potter

1991 A Hayter, J in der Schmitten and I tomlinson

1990 D M I C Wawman

1989 R M Chalmers & S Chopra

1988 S M Wilde

1987 S Lowrey

1986 S J Dove

1985 L Hughes-Davies

1984 A Nemeth

1976 H Peach

1983 M A Carling

1982 H S Smith & D McCormack 

1981 J Rees 

1979 P J M Davis

1978 J S Kroll & I Tomlinson 

1977 S Maybin & W B Taylor 

Print Email

Search (mobile)

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site