Join Now   Members' Area   Join a SIG     Blog   LinkedIn   Twitter 

BGS Regional Officers - England

The BGS has national councils in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Within England, there are also 14 BGS regions, listed below.

Each Nation and Region runs their own regional meetings and engages with governmental authorities at their own level.

Should you require more information about your region, please contact the Mark Stewart, the Membership Officer. For events planned around the regions, or to promote a regional event, please contact Geraint Collingridge, Events Manager or consult the BGS Events menu above.

The BGS has prepared guidance for incoming Regional Officers. This may be downloaded here (MSWord format)

East Anglia

Chair: Deyo Okubadejo 
Sec: Raj Shekhar

(Updated 17 Jan 2017)


Chair: Adam Darowski
Sec: Alexandra Montagu

(Updated May 2015)


Chair: Vinod Gowda ()
Sec: Asangaedem Akpan ()

BGS Mersey updates here

(Updated 13 Jan 2017)

North Western

Chair: David Bourne
Sec: Rajkumar Parikh
Treasurer : Marie Hanley 

(Updated 9 June 2015)

West Midlands

Chair: Zoe Wyrko
Sec: Huma Naqvi
Treasurer: David Gull
England Council: Helen Chamberlain
Trainees Representative: Emma Bailey

BGS West Midlands posts regional updates here.

(Updated 17 June 2016)

North East Thames

Chair: Shilpa Raje
Sec: Sumathi Ragavan

(Updated 17 June 2016)

North West Thames

Chair: David Bourne
Sec: Avinash Sharma

(Updated 7 December 2015)

South East Thames

Chair: Subir Mukherjee
Sec: Yvonne Morrissey
Secretariat: Stella Barnes

(Updated 17 June 2016)

South Western

Chair: Tarun Solanki
Sec: Vacant

(Updated 17 June 2016)

South West Thames

Chair: Natalie Broomhead
Sec: Chooi Lee

(updated 11 Nov 2014)


Chair: Stuart Parker
Sec and Treasurer: Simon Kerr
England Council: Akif Gani
England Council: Vicky Marrison

(Updated June 2016)


Chair: Dr James Reid
Sec: Dr Riaz Mappilakkandy (Deputy: Dr Michael Azad)
Treasurer: Dr David Da Costa (Deputy: Dr Natalie Vethanayagam)
Trainees' Representative: Dr Ruwani Abeyratne 
RCP Advisor for Trent South: N Lo

(Updated 4 Aug 2014)


Chair:  Matt Thomas 
Sec – Sally Mitchel 

(Updated 17 March 2015)


Chair: Abhay Das
Sec: Mark Harkness
ETC rep: Tun Aung

(Updated 20 March 2015)





Search (mobile)

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site