Election: BGS Deputy Honorary Secretary

BGS invites all current BGS members to vote in the election for the next BGS Deputy Honorary Secretary.

The Deputy Honorary Secretary supports the Honorary Secretary (currently Frazer Anderson; from November 19, David Attwood) in their role and will move into the Honorary Secretary (Hon Sec) position themselves after two years. The Hon Sec is one of the BGS’s most senior roles, serving as a member of the BGS Trustee Board and a director of BGS (Trading) Ltd, our wholly-owned trading arm.

The Hon Sec chairs the Policy Committee; advises on and approves press releases, policy statements and endorsements; commissions articles and edits the BGS Newsletter. The Deputy Hon Sec shares some of these duties and deputises for the Hon Sec.

The BGS is therefore holding a ballot of its members to elect the next Deputy Honorary Secretary (2019-21). Votes must be cast by Sunday 15 September 2019.

How to vote online

All current BGS members will have received a link via email, and will need to click on the button in this email to vote.

You will be asked to rank the three candidates in order of preference. Votes will be counted according to the Single Transferable Vote (STV) method.

If you have not received this email or need assistance to vote, including help logging into your account and/or confirming your membership standing, please contact the Membership Officer at membership [at] bgs [dot] org [dot] uk or call 0203 747 6942.

Voting opens on 1 August 2019 and closes on 15 September 2019 at midnight.