Board of Trustees

The British Geriatrics Society is governed by a Board of Trustees which is responsible for the long term direction of the BGS, ensuring that it is solvent, well-run and delivering its charitable mission.

The overall responsibility of the Trustee Board, which meets four times a year, is to provide direction and stewardship for the British Geriatrics Society, by:

  • Setting the vision, mission, values and strategic direction of the Society
  • Monitoring performance against the Strategy and overseeing the work of committees and Councils which are accountable to the Board
  • Acting as the guardians of the charity’s assets, both tangible and intangible, taking all due care over their security, deployment and proper application, and managing risk appropriately
  • Ensuring that the Society complies with all constitutional, legal and regulatory requirements
  • Being accountable and responsive to the membership
  • Providing a high standard of governance.

The Trustee Board consists of: 

  • BGS President (who is also the Chair)   
  • President Elect (who is the Deputy Chair)
  • Honorary Secretary  
  • Honorary Treasurer 
  • Chair of the Trainees’ Council 
  • Chair of the Nurses and AHP Council 
  • Chairs of the National Councils: England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.
  • Lay Trustees X 2. 

Standing committees and Councils which report to the Board:

  • BGS England Council 
  • BGS Northern Ireland Council
  • BGS Scotland Council
  • BGS Wales Council 
  • Clinical Quality Committee
  • Education and Training Committee 
  • Finance Committee 
  • Policy and Communications Committee
  • Research and Academic Development Committee
  • Nurses and AHP Council
  • Trainees’ Council
  • Workforce Committee
  • Community and Primary Care Group  

In the event of a vacancy in the office of President-Elect, Deputy Honorary Secretary and/or Deputy Honorary Treasurer, there is a constitutional procedure for filling the vacancy. This may be found here.