Past Presidents, Honorary Secretaries and Honorary Treasurers

The British Geriatrics Society is governed by a Board of Trustees which is responsible for the long-term direction of the BGS, ensuring that it is solvent, well-run and delivering its charitable mission.

The BGS President serves as the Chair of the Trustee Board, and is supported by senior officers including the Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer. For details of the current and past postholders for these positions, please see below.


As Chair of the Trustee Board, the BGS President helps to oversee the strategy, governance and finances of the Society, and represents the BGS at conferences and meetings with key organisations such as the Royal Colleges. The President serves a two year term, having served as President Elect for two years previously.

Honorary Secretaries

As Chair of the BGS Policy and Communications Committee, the Honorary Secretary helps to steer the Society’s policy and influencing work, shaping the policy agenda relating to healthcare for older people and promoting the Society and its key messages. The Honorary Secretary serves a two year term, having served as Deputy Honorary Secretary for two years previously.

  • 2021-2023 Anne Hendry (current Honorary Secretary)
  • 2019-2021 David Attwood 
  • 2018-2019 Frazer Anderson 
  • 2016-2018 Shane O'Hanlon 
  • 2015-2016 Andrew Williams 
  • 2013-2015 Adam Gordon 
  • 2011-2013 Zoe Wyrko
  • 2009-2011 Simon Conroy
  • 2007-2009 David Oliver 
  • 2005-2007 David Beaumont 
  • 2003-2005 K Kelleher 
  • 2001-2003 C Vellodi
  • 1999-2001 RB Dunn
  • 1997-1999 DD Lubel 
  • 1995-1997 DA Black 
  • 1993-1995 BSD Sastry
  • 1991-1993 AES Ritch 
  • 1989-1991 IR Hastie 
Honorary Treasurers

As Chair of the BGS Finance Committee, the BGS Honorary Treasurer helps to oversee the governance and financial administration of the Society. The Honorary Treasurer serves a three year term.

  • 2020-2023 Sarah Goldberg (current Honorary Treasurer)
  • 2017-2020 David Owen 
  • 2014-2017 Juanita Pascual 
  • 2011-2014 Mike Vassallo
  • 2008-2011 David Cohen 
  • 2006-2008 Tom Smith 
  • 2005-2006 Margot Gosney 
  • 2002-2005 Ian Sturgess
  • 1999-2002 RJ Shepherd
  • 1996-1999 JM Potter
  • 1993-1996 HNC Gunther 
  • 1990-1993 Jerry Playfer