Frailty Hub: Education and training

BGS Clinical Quality Committee
British Geriatrics Society
Date Published:
24 June 2020
Last updated: 
24 June 2020

Here you can find links to our new frailty e-learning module and other useful training materials.

The BGS has launched an e-learning module on Frailty - identification and interventions which is available to view with or without accredited CPD (10 hours). 

BGS members can access this material on a reference-only basis free of charge. 

The module covers:

  • The definition of frailty
  • An explanation and review of frailty scales
  • The prevalence of frailty in different settings: community, care homes, acute admissions and inpatients
  • The theories underpinning the pathophysiology of frailty
  • Clinical presentation of frail older people
  • Adverse outcomes of frailty in different settings: community and inpatients
  • Evidence based interventions to improve outcomes for frail older people in a range of settings
  • Develop course participant's ability to articulate arguments to focus on the care of older people
  • Help course participant to  employ a range of teaching techniques to influence colleagues behaviours to older people
  • Frailty Core Capabilities Framework (understanding tiers and articulate this when discussing frailty with other healthcare professionals, patients and family)
  • Review of an older persons' experience of living with Frailty and understand the patient's desired outcomes
  • Anticipatory care planning
  • Treatment
  • Language of frailty – for appropriate use in conversations with carers
  • Develop skills to be able to advocate for frail older people
  • Aid demonstration of experience with frailty pathways
To access the e-learning module and view prices, please click here.

This is a collaborative initiative by Health Education England, NHS England and Skills for Health which provides a single, consistent and comprehensive framework that sets out the skills, knowledge and behaviours expected of any person who is involved in the care and support for people living with frailty.

The framework comprises 14 capabilities, grouped into 4 domains:
  • Domain A: Understanding, identifying and assessing frailty
  • Domain B: Person-centred collaborative working
  • Domain C: Managing frailty
  • Domain D: Underpinning principles
Within these domains there are three different 'tiers of capabilities' based on the role on the individual in the care of people living with frailty:
  • Tier 1: Those that require general awareness of frailty
  • Tier 2: Health and social care staff and others who regularly work with people living with frailty.
  • Tier 3: Health, social care and other professionals who provide expert care and lead services for people living with frailty.
The resource can be accessed for free here.


Feedback on this resource?

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.