Clinical Excellence Awards Round 2021: Open for applications

14 December 2020

The next round of clinical excellence awards has now opened. All candidates seeking the support of the BGS are asked to complete the appropriate form(s) and submit these to the Society by 5pm on 4 February 2021. This is a finite deadline and we will be unable to accept forms after this date.

Forms should be submitted to Mark Stewart via M [dot] Stewart [at] bgs [dot] org [dot] uk
Candidates will also need to submit an application via the ACCEA website, as in previous years.
Application forms can be obtained directly from ACCEA. The closing date for submitting forms to ACCEA is the 18th March 2021 (5pm).
There are three categories of nomination:
  • Bronze (Level 9)
  • Silver (Level 10)
  • Gold (Level 11)
The levels at which candidates may apply are as follows:
  • Candidates without a national award may apply at Bronze level.
  • Bronze award holders may apply at Silver level.
  • Silver award holders may apply at Gold level.
All candidates are advised to keep up to date with developments via the ACCEA website. It is essential that candidates read and familiarise themselves with the ACCEA candidate guidelines, which can be accessed via the above link.
ACCEA considers applications for CEAs from consultants employed in NHS organisations in England and Wales only. Scotland and Northern Ireland run schemes unconnected, but along similar lines, to ACCEA.
Candidates are strongly advised to register for the awards as early as possible, and to seek the support of the RCP in addition to the BGS.
Please note that if you have any queries or need advice at any stage of the process, you should contact Mark Stewart on 020 7608 8575 or M [dot] Stewart [at] bgs [dot] org [dot] uk